Maize Day

Doodlewash

Maize Day by Charlie O'Shields

Today it’s time to celebrate Maize, which came to be known as “corn” by Europeans. Upon googling it, I saw that it apparently has an “ancient and interesting history,” so feel free to look it up as I didn’t feel like a history lesson today and got distracted with a link to a cute cat video.

This is a doodlewash of Flint corn, also called Indian corn, and it’s hard as a rock so it makes a good decoration. It was also harder than I expected to draw, but I used some of the tricks I learned doodlewashing Jelly Beans in order to “cheat it” and get the point across. It’s not a terribly elegant trick as it just consists of jamming bits of really dark colors here and there in a mad frenzy to simulate depth and finish it within the hour I had to paint today.

I realized that Philippe and…

View original post 416 more words

Leave a Reply

